

Awardees of the Illinois **Science Teaching Association**



ELEVATING EDUCATORS







Precious Allen

Cook County Teacher of the Year

Elementary Teacher

Betty Shabazz International Charter School





Traci Krueger

Cook County Teacher of the Year

Elementary Teacher

John Mills Elementary School

Elmwood Park Community Unit School District 401





Marricea Page

West Central Teacher of the Year

Elementary Teacher

Dr. Maude A. Sanders Primary School

Peoria Public School District 150





Aimee Park

South Suburban Teacher of the Year

Sixth Grade Science Teacher

Lisle Junior High School

Lisle Community Unit School District 202





Jonna Piercy

Southeast Regional Teacher of the Year

Spring Garden Elementary School

Spring Garden Community Consolidated School District 178





Jason J. Crean, Ed.D.

NSTA Distinguished Teaching Award

Science Instructor Lyons Township High School Western Springs, IL





Kendra Mallory

Shell Urban Science Educators Development Award

Science Teacher Martha M. Ruggles Elementary School Chicago, IL





Kelley Parks

Vernier Technology Awards

Agricultural Science Teacher Forreston Jr/Sr High School Forreston, IL





Randie Johnson

Robert E. Yager Excellence in Teaching

Science Teacher Glenn Westlake Middle School Lombard, IL





Kori Bowns

Maitland P. Simmons Memorial Award for New Teachers

Science Teacher Argo Community High School Summit, IL





Ryan Kamphuis

Maitland P. Simmons Memorial Award for New Teachers

Physics and Engineering Teacher Benito Juarez Community Academy High School Chicago, IL





The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

(PAEMST) is the Highest Recognition

that a kindergarten through 12th grade educator may receive for outstanding science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science instruction in the United States.



The National Science Foundation (NSF) administers PAEMST on behalf of

The White House

Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)



About PAEMST

Established by Congress in 1983, the President may recognize up to 108 exemplary teachers each year.

An award may be given to two teachers (mathematics and/or science award category) from each of the 50 states, Washington D.C., the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico,
Department of Defense Education Activity schools, and the U.S. Territories as a group
(U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands).



2020 Finalists

Brandy Hempen

Mathematics Teacher

Germantown Elementary School

Germantown Elementary School District 60





Maria E. Hull

Mathematics Teacher

Paul Revere Primary School

Cook County School District 130





Jennifer Leban

Computer Science Teacher

Sandburg Middle School

Elmhurst Community Unit School District 205





Amy McGreal

Science Teacher

James Ward Elementary School

Chicago Public Schools





Carla Shortino

Science Teacher

Catherine Cook School







2019 Awardees

David Sladkey

High School Math Teacher

Naperville Central High School

Naperville Community Unit School District 203





Tanya Katovich

High School Science Teacher

Hoffman Estates High School

High School District 211



